Physiology
of fast

There is nothing to lose in attempting a fast. 

There is no failure, for even if you fail to achieve your stated goal, you will have learned and experienced much of value. 

 

What is Fasting really? It is more than just not eating.

 

Fasting involves moving from external food, food, to internal nutrition, our reserves. We can compare this with a laptop, which can operate on AC power (external power) or thanks to its battery (internal reserves). Fasting is accompanied by autolysis or self-restoration: whatever is usable is used as fuel.

But, importantly, essential tissues are preserved (brain, tissue proteins). In a healthy adult measuring 1.70 m and weighing 70 kg, the reserves allow fasting safely up to 40 days. They consist of approximately 750 g of carbohydrates (sugars), 3 kg of proteins and especially 10 kg of lipids (fats). They are divided into 4 large “compartments” of reserves:

  • the blood: glucose for 2 to 3 hours, lipids in the form of triglycerides.

  • the liver: carbohydrates in the form of glycogen for approximately 24 hours.

  • the adipocytes (fat cells): lipids in the form of triglycerides.

  • the tissues and cells: muscles, damaged proteins, walls of used intestinal cells… constitute a reserve of proteins.

Fasting is a natural practice done to promote healing, to fortify the body and soul, not to tear them down. In the animal kingdom it happens on an instinctual level. While we humans usually have to make a greater effort, it is still a natural biological action. Eating 24/7 is not natural. Taking a break from food allows for a rebalancing within the body, and within our psyche, affecting also our sense of connection to the world of spirit.  

 

What are the benefits of fasting? Hippocrates (400 BC) used to fast in order to mobilize the self-healing-forces of the body. "Our medicine should be our food but eating when we are sick is like we are feeding our disease." he says. 

There are many benefits to fasting, as it has such widespread effects on our being as a whole. Not just our physical bodies are affected, but also our mental and emotional states, as well as our feeling of spiritual connection.

Fasting will:

  • rest the digestive system

  • allow for cleansing and detoxification of the body

  • create a break in eating patterns and get rid of dependencies

  • promote greater mental clarity

  • lead to a feeling of physical lightness, increasing energy level

  • promote an inner stillness, enhancing spiritual connection

Why exercise during fast?

 

Gandhi was the first to combine fasting and walking. For months he crossed his country, consuming only lemon water and honey.

Physical activity during fasting is a fundamental pillar according to Dr. Buchinger since it helps speeding up the process of eliminating toxins. Indeed, when the body is not in motion, the toxins circulate for a longer time in the body without being eliminated and can thus cause unpleasant symptoms such as headache, hunger, etc.

Hiking in the middle of nature, in refreshing places brings calm and serenity. These benefits will be further amplified if we focus on our movements, our feelings and our breathing. Therefore, walks are planned daily in the beautiful forest of The Ardennes.We will alternate conscious walking, contemplative hiking, sensitive Nordic walking and meditative breaks during walking times.

Most of the hikes are done from where we will be staying, to discover the nature of these wild places. Other walks in exceptional places of nature are planned, requiring short trips by car.

 

Other physical activities that promote the elimination of toxins and body balance are also offered such as: morning gymnastics to get the circulation started, Viniyoga, Cycling, relaxation courses. All of course, voluntarily, just as it fits your needs and mood.

 No stress, because this is the last thing we need. 

© 2020 - Walk 'n Fast - All rights reserved. 

Languages: FR - DE - EN

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

Physiologie
du jeûne

Rien à perdre à essayer de jeûner, plutôt à gagner!

Même si vous n'atteignez pas votre objectif, vous aurez appris et fait une expérience enrichissante.

 

Qu'est-ce que le jeûne en réalité ? C'est plus que de ne pas manger.

 

Jeûner consiste à passer d’une alimentation externe, la nourriture, à une nutrition interne, nos réserves. On peut comparer cela avec un ordinateur portable, qui peut fonctionner sur secteur (alimentation externe) ou grâce à sa batterie (réserves internes). Le jeûne s’accompagne d’autolyse ou d’auto restauration : tout ce qui est utilisable sert de combustible.

Mais, fait important, les tissus essentiels sont préservés (cerveau, protéines tissulaires). Chez un adulte en bonne santé mesurant 1m70 et pesant 70 kg, les réserves permettent de jeûner sans danger jusqu’à 40 jours. Elles sont constituées par environ 750 g de glucides (les sucres), 3 kg de protéines et surtout 10 kg de lipides (les graisses). Elles se répartissent en 4 grands « compartiments » de réserves:

  • le sang : glucose pendant 2 à 3 heures, lipides sous forme de triglycérides.

  • le foie : glucides sous forme de glycogène pendant environ 24 heures.

  • les adipocytes (cellules graisseuses) : lipides sous forme de triglycérides.

  • les tissus et les cellules : muscles, protéines détériorées, paroi des cellules intestinales usagées… constituent une réserve de protéines.

Le jeûne est une pratique naturelle destinée à favoriser la guérison et à fortifier le corps et l'âme.  Et non le contraire. Dans le règne animal, jeûner est instinctif. Bien que pour nous, les humains, jeûner demande généralement plus d'efforts, cela reste toujours une activité biologique naturelle. Manger 24 heures sur 24 , 7 jours sur 7 n'est pas naturel. S’abstenir d’aliments solides sur une durée déterminée permet un rééquilibrage dans le corps et dans notre psychisme, permettant de bien nourrir l’esprit pendant que le corps jeûne (affectant également notre sens de la connexion au monde de l'esprit).

 

Quels sont les avantages du jeûne ? Hippocrate (400 avant JC) jeûnait pour mobiliser les forces guérissons du corps. « Se nourrir devrait être bénéfique pour notre corps mais en cas de maladie c’est comme si nous nourrissions la maladie. » Ecrivait-il.

Le jeûne présente de nombreux avantages, car il a des effets très positifs sur l’ensemble de notre Être. Notre physique ainsi que notre état mental et émotionnel s’en trouvent affectés.

Pourquoi randonner tout en jeûnant ?

 

Gandhi fut le premier à associer le jeûne et la marche. Pendant des mois, il traversa son pays en ne consommant que de l’eau citronnée et du miel.

La pratique d’une activité physique durant le jeûne est un pilier fondamental selon le Dr Buchinger puisqu’elle permet d’accélérer les processus d’élimination des toxines. Lorsque le corps n’est pas en mouvement, les toxines circulent pendant plus longtemps dans l’organisme sans être éliminées et peuvent ainsi causer des symptômes désagréables tels que maux de tête, faim, etc.

Randonner en pleine nature, dans des lieux d’exception apporte calme et sérénité. Ces bienfaits seront encore amplifiés si nous nous centrons sur nos mouvements, nos ressentis et notre respiration. C’est pourquoi nous combinons quotidiennement nos séjours de retraite avec de belles randonnées en pleine nature. Nous alternons marche consciente, randonnée contemplative, marche nordique sensitive et pauses méditatives durant les temps de marche.

La plupart des randonnées se font à partir du lieu d'accueil, pour découvrir la nature de ces lieux sauvages. D'autres balades sur des lieux de nature exceptionnels sont prévues, nécessitant de courts déplacements en voiture.

 

Comme les randonnées, d'autres activités physiques adaptées favorisant l’élimination des toxines et l’équilibre du corps sont également proposées, telles que : la gymnastique du matin pour stimuler la circulation sanguine, le yoga, les randonnées à vélo, les cours de relaxation, etc. Bien sûr, ces activités sont disponibles selon vos envies, votre motivation et votre humeur.

Evitons le stress, car c'est bien la dernière chose dont nous avons besoin.

© 2020 - Walk 'n Fast - All rights reserved. 

Langues: FR - DE - EN

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon